Who invented carpeting?

The earliest surviving pile carpet is the Pazyryk carpet, which dates from the 5th-4th century BC. It was excavated by Sergei Ivanovich Rudenko in 1949 from a Pazyryk burial mound in the Altai Mountains in Siberia.