What are the duties of the f. b. i.?

The mission of the FBI is to protect and defend the United States against terrorist and foreign intelligence threats, to uphold and enforce the criminal laws of the US, and to provide leadership and criminal justice services to federal, state, municipal, and international agencies and partners.