Where does baby corn come from if there is only popcorn?

Baby corn is regular corn (sweetcorn) that is picked while the stalks are small and immature. They are picked either just as the silks emerge from the ear tips or within a few days thereafter. Baby corn ears usually are about 2 to 4 inches in length and about 0.25 to 0.75 inches in diameter.