How many countries make up the world?

The United Nations recognizes 195 sovereign countries. 193 of these countries are members of the UN, and two - the Holy See and the State of Palestine - are simply observer states. By some definitions, there are 197 countries in the world. This number is drawn when Taiwan and Kosovo are included.