Are chives and green onions the same thing?

Chives and green onions are different visually. Chive stems are long, very skinny, solid green and tender, whereas green onions have a thicker, more substantial stem that is green toward the top and white at the bottom. Chives are delicate and tender and are best eaten raw or cooked very briefly.