What do drone bees do?

Drone bees are male and do not collect nectar and pollen like female worker bees do. The primary responsibility of the drone bee is to mate with the queen.

---

A drone is a male bee that is the product of an unfertilized egg. They cannot help defend the hive and they do not have the body parts to collect pollen or nectar, so they cannot contribute to feeding the community. The drone's only job is to mate with the queen.