Who is the mind flayer?

The Mind Flayer is a malevolent entity that resides in the parallel dimension known as the Upside Down. The Mind Flayer is a massively powerful being of unknown origin. He wields supreme control of the Upside Down via a psychic link, controlling Demogorgons, tendrils, and the Flayed.