What's the history of gibraltar?

The history of Gibraltar, a small peninsula on the southern Iberian coast near the entrance of the Mediterranean Sea, spans 2,900 years. The peninsula has evolved from a place of reverence in ancient times into one of the most densely fortified & fought-over places in Europe.