Who is the tallest man in history?

The tallest man in history was an American named Robert Pershing Wadlow (February 22, 1918 – July 15, 1940). Robert grew to be 8ft 11in. His abnormal growth was due to hypertrophy of his pituitary gland, which results in an abnormally high level of the human growth hormone.