What is the difference between bake and broil?

Broiling uses only top-down heat to completely cook delicate food or just crisp and brown the top of already-cooked dishes. Baking uses moderate temperatures to cook food. Heating elements on the top, bottom and sometimes the back of the oven are used for an all-over cooking method.