Why is it called a moscow mule?

Back in the 1940s vodka was unpopular in the US. John Martin had a bunch of it, and his friend, bar-owner Jack Morgan had a bunch of ginger beer he couldn't sell. Another man had some copper mugs he couldn't sell. They invented the Moscow Mule - Moscow for Russian vodka and mule because of the kick.