How do birds survive in cold weather?

Birds are well equipped to survive the coldest of temperatures. They store fat during the short days of winter to keep themselves warm during the long nights. During those freezing nights, they fluff their feathers to trap heat and slow their metabolism to conserve energy.

---

Birds use a variety of methods to keep warm including, shivering, fluffing feathers for insulation, roosting in groups, and tucking their bills and feet next to their body.