Did benjamin franklin write the declaration of independence?

Benjamin Franklin was appointed to the Committee of Five that drafted the Declaration of Independence. Although he was temporarily disabled by gout and unable to attend most meetings, Franklin made several small but important changes to the draft sent to him by Thomas Jefferson, the principal author

---

The Declaration of Independence was drafted by a committee of John Adams, Benjamin Franklin, Thomas Jefferson, Roger Sherman, and Robert Livingston. Jefferson, for his ability with words, wrote the first draft; then it was edited by the others, and then edited again by the whole Congress.