Did benjamin franklin write the declaration of independence?

Benjamin Franklin was appointed to the Committee of Five that drafted the Declaration of Independence. Although he was temporarily disabled by gout and unable to attend most meetings, Franklin made several small but important changes to the draft sent to him by Thomas Jefferson, the principal author