What does it mean when you taste metal in your mouth?

A metallic taste can indicate a serious illness, such as kidney or liver problems, undiagnosed diabetes or certain cancers. But these reasons are uncommon and typically accompanied by other symptoms. Heartburn, acid reflux, and indigestion could also be responsible for a metallic taste.