How much damage does fire do in minecraft?

When you r set on fire, u take 0.5 hearts per second of pre-armor damage. If u are standing in fire, u take another 0.5 hearts per second pre-armor. If u r swimming in lava, u take 2.0 hearts per second. This totals to 0.5 per second on fire, 1.0 per second in fire, & 2.5 per second in lava.