What does it mean when a dog's ears are back?

In general dogs put their ears back as part of their smile. When dog's ears are back and down they are saying I'm friendly and won't hurt you or they might be saying please don't hurt me. Dog body language is complex and all parts of the dog combine to tell the story of how they are feeling.