What does march hare mean?

The "March Hare" is a fictitious character that appears in the tea party scene, in Lewis Carroll's 1865 book, Alice's Adventures in Wonderland. Based on the character's erratic behaviour in the book, the phrase "March Hare" is now used to describe someone who is scatter-brained.