Where do komodo dragons come from?

Komodo dragons originated and evolved in Australia, and then dispersed to Indonesia. Komodo dragons have thrived in the harsh climate of Indonesia's Lesser Sunda Islands for millions of years. They prefer the islands' tropical forests but can be found across the islands.