When was the first space shuttle flight?

On April 12, 1981, NASA launched the world's first reusable manned spacecraft.

---

The first shuttle launch for orbital flight was April 12th, 1981. The Shuttle Orbiter Columbia left the pad at 7am, 20 years to the day after the first human was launched into space.