What is a fighting illini?

Chief Illiniwek was the mascot or symbol of the University of Illinois at Urbana–Champaign, associated with the University's intercollegiate athletic programs, from October 30, 1926 to February 21, 2007. The Illinois Fighting Illini are the intercollegiate sports teams of the University of Illinois