What is the difference between russet potato and baked potato?

A russet potato is a type of potato that is large, with dark brown skin and few eyes. The flesh is white, dry, soft, and mealy. Russet potatoes are also known as Idaho potatoes in the United States. A russet potato is suitable for baking, mashing, and french fries.