What was the name of the island in jaws?

Jaws takes place on Amity Island. A fictional island located off the coast of New England.

---

Peter Benchley's novel, Jaws, indicated that Amity Island was a seaside town off of Long Island, New York. The movie was filmed on Martha's Vinyard, Massachusetts.