Do humans evolve from monkeys?

Humans did not evolve from monkeys. Humans are more closely related to modern apes than to monkeys, but we didn't evolve from apes, either. The species diverged into two separate lineages. One lineage evolved into gorillas and chimps, and the other into early human ancestors called hominids.