What is the origin of music?

What is the origin of music? Music first arose in the Paleolithic period, though it remains unclear as to whether this was the Middle (300,000- 50,000 BP) or Upper Paleolithic (50,000-12,000 BP). The majority of Paleolithic instruments have been found in Europe and date to the Upper Paleolithic.