Why is it called shepherd's pie?

Originally, a pie made with any kind of meat and mashed potato was called a "cottage pie". In modern British English, the dish is usually called "cottage pie" if it is made with beef. If it is made with lamb it is usually called "shepherd's pie" (because a shepherd looks after sheep).

---

Shepard’s pie is traditionally made with lamb, and potatoes alongside other varying ingredients that would be readily accessible to a Shepherd. A shepherd is the name of someone who looks after sheep so the name Shepherds Pie came about.