What does a dragon fruit grow on?

Dragon fruit grows on a species of cactus, Hylocereus, which is cultivated throughout southeast Asia.

---

A pitaya, often called dragonfruit, is the fruit of several different cactus species. Pitaya is cultivated in East Asia, South Asia, Southeast Asia, the United States, the Caribbean, Australia, and throughout tropical and subtropical regions of the world.