Who was the president under the articles of confederation?

John Hanson, was the first appointed President of the United States, under the Articles of Confederation, in November of 1781. He should not be confused with George Washinton, the first elected president of the United States, under the U.S. Constitution, which replaced the Articles of Confederation.