Are mandarins and clementines the same thing?

No they are not the same. The biggest difference is that clementines are a type of mandarin, a hybrid crossing mandarins with sweet oranges, while mandarins are a group of several different fruits that include not only clementines but satsumas, tangerines, and other varieties as well.