Why do people have accents?

The reason accents exist is that language changes all the time but doesn't change the same way everywhere. If two groups that speak the same language have little interaction, each group's way of speaking will change in its own way, bit by bit, until the two accents are distinct.

---

Accents are the natural result of where a particular person was born, where those around them influence the way they pronounce words. Accents are generally noticeable in people who did not learn to speak the language natively, and thus still possess inflections on words from their native tongue.