What country made ketchup?

Ketchup has a storied past that dates back to imperial China. Ketchup comes from the Hokkien Chinese word, kê-tsiap, the name of a sauce derived from fermented fish and soybeans. It wasn't until 1812 that a tomato-based ketchup was invented.