What's the difference between a meyer lemon and a regular lemon?

The Meyer lemon fruit is rounder than a true lemon. The skin is fragrant and thin, coloured a deep yellow with a slight orange tint when ripe. Meyer lemon fruits have a sweeter, less acidic flavour than the more common supermarket lemon varieties.