Where was the republic of genoa?

Liguria The Republic of Genoa (Ligurian: Repúbrica de Zêna [ɾeˈpybɾika dezeːna]; Italian: Repubblica di Genova; Latin: Res Publica Ianuensis) was a medieval and early modern maritime republic from the 11th century to 1797 in Liguria on the northwestern Italian coast.