What is an argyle sweater?

An argyle sweater is a sweater that has an argyle pattern on it. Argyle patterns look similar to plaid or a chess board, but sideways so the squares are diamonds. Most argyle contains layers of overlapping motifs. Typically, there is an overlay of intercrossing diagonal lines on the solid diamonds.