What happened in seventeen ninety three?

August 1 – The yellow fever epidemic of 1793 starts in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. September 18 – United States Capitol cornerstone laying: President George Washington lays the cornerstone for the United States Capitol in Washington, D.C.