What's the difference between philo dough and puff pastry?

In contrast to puff pastry, phyllo dough has almost no fat, it's mostly flour and water and can dry out easily. Ususually each sheet is brushed with melted butter before baking. Phyllo gets crisp and flaky when baked but it doesn't have the same rich, airy quality that puff pastry has.