Why is ginger beer called ginger beer?

Ginger Beer was made by fermenting ginger, sugar, and water and brewing them using a culture called "Ginger Beer Plant". This resulted in a brew of approximately 11% alcohol. In present day, Ginger Beer is mostly manufactured rather than brewed.