Where did the name leonard skynyrd come from?

According to Wikipedia, Lynyrd Skynyrd took their name as a mocking tribute to Leonard Skinner, a physical education instructor at Robert E. Lee High School in their hometown of Jacksonville, Florida known for his strict enforcement of the school's hair code.

---

Under that name & several others, the group developed its chops playing local & regional gigs throughout the 1960s and early 1970s, then finally broke out nationally in 1973 following the adoption of the name “Lynyrd Skynyrd” in honor of a high school gym teacher & nemesis named Leonard Skinner.