How many japanese characters are there?

The total number of kanji is well over 50,000, though few if any native speakers know anywhere near this number. In modern Japanese, the hiragana and katakana syllabaries each contain 46 basic characters, or 71 including diacritics.

---

Most native Japanese use generally around 300 in every day conversation give or take but the total number of Kanji is somewhere around 50 thousand characters used to define everything and some families combine Kanji to create new name for children. Hiragana and Katakana are the main two forms taught