Who made santa claus is coming to town?

"Santa Claus Is Comin' to Town" is a Christmas song written by J. Fred Coots and Haven Gillespie. The earliest known recorded version of the song was by banjoist Harry Reser and his band on October 24, 1934. It is also a 1970 stop motion Christmas TV special by Rankin/Bass Productions in New York.