Why can't dogs have onions?

Onions contain compounds, called disulfides and thiosulphates, which can be toxic for cats and dogs if ingested. The ingestion of onions causes conditions called hemolytic anemia, Heinz body anemia, and methemoglobinemia, which are all manifestation of damage to red blood cells.