Is quid pro quo illegal?

It depends upon what’s traded, for example holding back one billion dollars in aid until a prosecutor drops the charges against your son is obviously illegal

---

Quid Pro Quo is not illegal. It is a latin phrase that means one party is exchanging something with another for something else. The legality would be entirely dependent on those things that were exchanged.