When were beyblades made?

Beyblades, developed and manufactured by Takara Tomy, were released in Japan in 1999. In 2002, Hasbro sold these toys internationally alongside a television show. In August of 2008, Takara Tomy released the "Beyblade: Metal Fusion" version of the toy.