Why is a body of water called a sound?

A body of water is called a sound because it stems from the Old Norse word sund meaning “swimming” or “strait”. Also, the term "sound" was applied to inlets containing large islands, such as Puget Sound. It was also applied to bodies of open water not fully open to the ocean by the English.