Is the arrow nots movie based on a true story?

Sort of ... While aeronaut, meteorologist, and astronomer James Glaisher did exist, and did break the world balloon flight record, he didn’t do so with partner-in-crime Amelia Wren. Amelia is actually based on aeronaut Henry Coxwell, Glaisher’s true co-balloon pilot.