How did lincoln logs get their name?

K'Nex, the current distributor of Lincoln Logs, says they were named after former U.S. president Abraham Lincoln because he was born in an old-fashioned log cabin (due to popular legend), and the name invoked patriotism during WWI when the toy was invented.