Is funner proper grammar?

No. It would be correct to say “more fun”

---

Yes, but it's acceptance is more recent. "Fun" used to be defined as a noun, but now, Merriam-Webster says "fun" is also an adjective in modern dictionaries--making "funner" correct grammar. It's still considered informal speech. "More fun" is preferred in writing and presentations.