How long does dog food last?

Unopened dry dog food lasts for 12 to 18 months while unopened canned food can last for two years. Once dry dog food is open, the shelf life is a few months at best. Opened canned food can be kept in the fridge for up to a week but only four hours in the bowl at room temperature.