What is a gaster blaster from undertale?

In the indie 2-D RPG game, Undertale, a gaster plaster is used by the monster Sans. It has the figure of a skull and shoots laser-type blasts from it's mouth. While unconfirmed, many players suggest it is an entity of the monster Gaster, and that is the source of its power.