What attracts sheep in minecraft?

Hold some of their favourite food out (wheat for sheep and cows; carrots for pigs; seeds for chickens). When they notice the food, they will look at you and follow you. Lead them back to their new home! If you build a pen, it will be easy to get them to follow you in.