Why do they call it canola oil?

Canola is an oilseed crop created through plant crossbreeding. Scientists in Canada developed an edible version of the rapeseed plant, which — on its own — harbors toxic compounds called erucic acid and glucosinolates. The name “canola” comes from “Canada” and “ola,” denoting oil.